Word Vomits by Me

Personal Heroes and Hustling Harder

So one of my personal heroes is Lilly Singh, who if you don’t know, is a professional YouTuber. She makes YouTube videos for a living. She has her main channel, then her vlogging channel in which she basically just records herself going about her day. I love her vlogs. I love them because I, as an audience member, get to know her as a person, and get to see her in her daily life. Something that I’ve been noticing about her and admiring is that her daily life includes a lot of hard work and hustling. She works so hard and accomplishes so much with her time. She stays up so late just to get everything done. She is such an inspiration to work hard and accomplish my goals and dreams.

As the kind of person who tends to be very lazy and irresponsible, I like to justify myself by looking on the internet and seeing all the memes of people who go on Netflix instead of doing the work they’re supposed to be doing. There are so many memes too, let me tell you. So many people would rather watch Netflix than work for their goals. Most people are too lazy, or they, like me, are afraid.

Now, what would I be afraid of? I guess I’m afraid that I will put a lot of time and effort into something that won’t do well, or something that won’t get me anywhere. I fear working really hard to accomplish something, and then that something flopping. I dread working hard to accomplish something, only to realize that it’s not something I really want to do, and I’m very unhappy doing it.

But Lilly Singh is an inspiration to me to ignore all my fears and personal doubts and to work hard. Just work hard and actually accomplish something with my life. Her daily vlogs are an inspiration to me as I watch her work hard and accomplish so many amazing things. She’s written a book, she’s toured the world, she’s made a living making YouTube videos, she’s even had a couple cameos in movies. She has worked hard and she has made something for herself. I’m constantly inspired by her creativity, her hard work, and her determination to see her work through to the end.

I’ve been realizing that I don’t work as hard as I could, therefore I don’t achieve all the things I could be achieving. I could be doing so much more with my life if I were using my time wisely and working hard towards my goals. I would be even further if I knew what my goals were. But that’s a whole other story. I’m really lazy, and I don’t work nearly as hard as I could be if I actually wanted to accomplish something.

My best friend is that person who’s always busy. She’s constantly working or busy with school. Every time I try to get together with her, she tells me that she’s busy, and can’t do anything. Now, this would get annoying, but she’s my best friend so I don’t care. Also, I’m realizing that there’s something to her attitude. She works hard and she’s going to be a lot farther than I will be in the future if I don’t start hustling. I’m the dreamer. She’s the one who accomplishes dreams. I sit back waiting for something magical to happen, while she’s the type of person who works hard to make those dreams happen. And I’m realizing that if I want to be anything in life, I have to work hard to make my dreams, my goals, a reality.

I don’t like this idea at all. But you know what, if I’m going to be anything in life, I can’t just sit around expecting something great to happen. I have to go out and find the greatness. So instead of waiting around for greatness, I’m going to seek it out.

You know, there’s a part of me that doesn’t want to post this because I’m worried that I’m going to look back on this a few weeks from now and realize that nothing has changed, and now everyone knows that I failed. But, you know what, I’m not going to let myself fail this time. It’s time for me to actually work for something instead of sitting around in my room pretending I’m working hard when in reality I’m just watching Netflix.

New Life Motto: Dream Big, Hustle Hard. Hopefully, I’ll actually live it out instead of saying all this lofty stuff and not doing anything about it.

Leave a Reply

